Social Networking Blog

Guy Clapperton on the evolving new media

New home

A little housekeeping – sometime over the next 24 hours new entries on the Social Networking Blog will start to appear on my website at http://www.clapperton.co.uk – you’ll still be able to get there by logging on to http://www.socialnetworkingblog.co.uk and those of you coming straight to WordPress will still find the old entries; I’m putting it elsewhere because it’s reaching the stage at which advertising might become viable or even marginally lucrative, and the WordPress people won’t allow advertising on their blogs.

Thanks for looking in – see you in the other place!

April 16, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Twitter annoyances

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...
Image via CrunchBase

Great blog post pointed out by Jack Schofield of the Guardian to his followers, on ways of annoying Twitter users. I could add a few; we’re getting to the stage at which posting to Twitter about Twitter is going to seem very old hat (we could just accept Twitter’s there and get on with it, nobody phones you to talk about the phone network); engaging in endless one to one communications which should long ago have been taken to private mail and posting exclusively about your product are among them. But the list in this link is pretty much excellent and I’m relieved to say I don’t indulge in many of them. Not often anyway…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

April 16, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Building online communities profitably

A community of interest gathers at Stonehenge,...
Image via Wikipedia

A great blog post from the moblogsproblems blog points to areas that might explain why people don’t follow someone online, or why they don’t take part in communities. Since one of the issues is with not acknowledging helpful people I’ll start by thanking Shonali Burke for pointing it out, I don’t have a note of her website but she has an excellent blog and you can follow her on Twitter here.

The monetisation thing is something that interests me (funnily enough). I’ve only been plugging away at this particular site for just over a month (and took a week off last week) but it’s starting to get significant amounts of readers, particularly when I pick a fight with someone (again, funnily enough). The option to try to make it profitable somehow is probably premature but as I’ve just discovered WordPress deletes html code on my page by default (thanks, guys) don’t worry, you won’t be plagued with ads for a while just yet.

There are a lot of people, though, who want to engage with and build communities for the sake of it – clubs, fan circles whether of sports, favourite TV programmes, you know the sort of thing. I think a point that the original blogger has missed is picking an audience that’s ready to be engaged is vitally important. I get a fair bit of feedback on this site, but then it’s about social networking. I chose the subject to go with my book (must do a bit of work on that when I’m through blogging) but also because the people who were into social networking would also be into responding online. If I’d picked another subject close to my heart – say being a fortysomething father, which believe me is the most important thing in my life – then a lot of my target market would have needed the concept of blogging and responding explained to them before moving ahead with it.

So, address the audience but make sure the audience is ready first, would be my first advice to anyone wanting to set up a community. Second, be prepared to market to them – since the invention of the Internet there’s been an illusion that the audience will just turn up, somehow.

No doubt more will occur to me, spurred by other blog posts and articles – I’d be interested to hear anyone else’s perspectives.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

April 16, 2009 Posted by | Social media financing, social media trends | , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Is Twitter useless?

A cross-post from my Daniweb blog – debate on Twitter and its effectiveness continues. Click here to read the entry.

April 16, 2009 Posted by | Social networking providers | Leave a comment