Social Networking Blog

Guy Clapperton on the evolving new media

Twitter annoyances

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...
Image via CrunchBase

Great blog post pointed out by Jack Schofield of the Guardian to his followers, on ways of annoying Twitter users. I could add a few; we’re getting to the stage at which posting to Twitter about Twitter is going to seem very old hat (we could just accept Twitter’s there and get on with it, nobody phones you to talk about the phone network); engaging in endless one to one communications which should long ago have been taken to private mail and posting exclusively about your product are among them. But the list in this link is pretty much excellent and I’m relieved to say I don’t indulge in many of them. Not often anyway…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
April 16, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. It’s very funny. I don’t think I have done any of those…. But, there appears to be an assumption that everyone uses twitter in the same way and wants the same things from it. And I’m fairly convinced that’s flawed. For a start- I only have a handful of followers who I would mind losing (that includes you, 🙂 ) I don’t know why a huge number of my followers are following me and therefore I can’t possibly tailor my tweets to meet their expectations. I use twitter for a mixture of work and niche interest purposes – plus a bit of celeb watching. If I didn’t have an iPhone I wouldn’t use it nearly as much, to be honest. It works really well for me, so far. In fact it has been a boon! But I’m using it for well defined aims and crucially not for self promotion or promotion of my business.

    Comment by Gill | April 16, 2009

  2. Thanks for the reference Guy. Good point about posting to twitter about twitter; it does seem to be getting a bit passe, & I like the ‘phone analogy. Having said that I have had people ‘phone me about ‘phones, although I wished they hadn’t: they were very annoying.

    I could maybe include that if I do a follow-up of more ways to annoy people on twitter!

    Comment by drolgerg | April 16, 2009

  3. Hey, I didn’t say it didn’t happen, just hinted that it made my teeth itch when it does…

    Comment by guyclapperton | April 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

